Forum / formatting

• Blank.thumb
    Soon to be deleted
    Mar 20, 04:07pm

Is anyone having trouble with this when posting? I have tried over and over to make line spacing stay intact but all it does is remove the spaces and bunch it all in one paragraph. This happens when I have tried to post a poem as well. Very frustrating, and I have not had an issue with this on the site until today. What is going on???

• Blank.thumb
    Soon to be deleted
    Mar 20, 04:10pm

It appears that now you have to insert a bunch of HTML codes. Well, I don't want to do that. I've always just done simple copy/paste and nothing else. What gives.

• Author_photo.thumb
    James Lloyd Davis
    Mar 20, 06:12pm

I have had major trouble with formatting for weeks, but now it is an absolute disaster.

I'm a writer, not a code buff. This is a site for writers and writing. Unless the formatting reverts to what it was when I could copy and paste, then I see no personal benefit to posting any of my work here in the future. I've already taken down all but one of my stories because the formatting made them look like the work of a third grader.

I do hope they go back to the older form, at least for the posting of stories. Otherwise, I'm finished posting here altogether. And that's not a thing I say in anger. I say it with regret. I've always considered Fictionaut to be a useful and convenient platform and I've enjoyed the community atmosphere. I do hope the problem will be addressed.

• 0001_pabst_blue_ribbon_time.thumb
    Dolemite
    Mar 20, 06:46pm

This happened for a couple of days about two years ago.

This too shall pass.

Building/working on a website like this is a HUGE juggling act. Occasionally something gets out'a whack.

As far as the ads go, I sure as hell wouldn't create/run a site like this for free. They don't owe "us" a damn thing.

I hope they make kaboodles of money, but I doubt they will.

As some of you know, I've quit this place before (for a variety of reasons).