Forum / Gender perspective

• Author_photo.thumb
    James Lloyd Davis
    May 26, 09:22am

Eamon Byrne, in a comment on one of my flash pieces and as he often does, set me to thinking.

I am from the generation which developed the statement, "It's a {enter attribute, i.e. 'guy' or 'girl,' 'black' or 'white,' etc} thing. You simply wouldn't understand." Personally, it's a concept that I believe to be restrictive; not only limiting, but the very soul and essence of bigotry, the wellspring of stereotypical notions.

As a writer, I have always rebelled against the idea that your characters should be limited to perspectives with which you are familiar, as embodied by the maxim, "Write what you know." If that's the rule, how would you ever learn new things or transcend your own 'notions'? I believe that a writer must develop the ability to get within the mind of his/her characters, acquire a mind with more than mere sympatico, understanding, but must become empathic.

Method is the key.

But what about gender? That's the biggie, the great barrier for many people. A racial, or cultural mind could be shaped and molded to perspective through empathy, yes, but what about gender? How do you achieve the perspective, if you are a man, of that a woman would have? Conversely, how would a woman achieve the voice or the eyes of a man? I know how I would try to do it, but what about you?

Having pulled the pin on this grenade, I'll step away from the table.

I'm really curious about method, and would love to hear some ideas from you, from this group, one of the most intelligent forums I've encountered for authors.

• S._tepper--nov--lighter.thumb
    Susan Tepper
    May 26, 09:46am

One of my favorite things is writing from the male perspective: both adult males and boys of all ages. My last two novels have male protagonists.