Discussion → Beginner's Mistakes

• Arun
    Oct 29, 08:26am

I'm a beginner and have written very few flash fiction stories.

I find a lot of difficulty in practically every area, but these in particular:

-> While describing a scene as I would paint it, I use a lot of 'she', 'her', 'it' etc. Can I avoid this?

-> I can't go beyond simple sentence constructions without making a fool of myself

-> My plots are stupid :(

• Arun
    Oct 29, 08:35am

[continuation of the above]

So, did you stick with your 'kind' of writing if you hated it or did you imitate someone else?

Is a story mine if I am 'inspired'? How much of it is mine?

Can I wrap my story in another author's words?

• Pic.thumb
    Edward Mullany
    Oct 29, 10:03pm

Writing is difficult, Arun, as you suggest. It's often said that writing requires discipline and talent, among other 'virtues,' but anyone who wants to be a writer also needs to realize that patience is indispensable.

It doesn't hurt to imitate, as long as you know that you are imitating, and that imitation is more or less like practice.

• Rg.thumb
    Roxane Gay
    Oct 30, 01:23am

I think the first thing is to not demean your writing. Maybe it needs improvement (as most writing does) but it's not stupid.

To avoid she/he/it I try to name things specifically though you always want to keep things varied so sometimes, there is a place for he/she/it.

Imitation is a great way to start out but you really want to work toward finding your own voice.

• 4586_550127587839_9801266_32663791_2858639_n.thumb
    Ben White
    Nov 03, 05:14pm

A few additions:

As Roxane says, a good mix of proper nouns and pronouns helps very things up. It also sometimes helps if not every sentence starts with the noun (you could use an introductory clause, for example).