Forum / Matt Paust doesn't wanna work.

• Better.thumb

• Mugshotme_(3).thumb
    Mathew Paust
    Oct 09, 12:00am

I don't know anybody who wantsta work, Grouchy. Do you?

• Angelcity1.thumb
    Chris Okum
    Oct 09, 05:57pm

I certainly don't. I hate - HATE - my fucking job. Been sitting in this chair for over 15 years, doing the same thing day after day after day after day. What a waste of a life. I tell my kids: find a job you want, or else a job will find you, and the odds are that you won't want it.

• Dscf0571.thumb
    David Ackley
    Oct 09, 07:27pm

Congratulations, Chris. At least you're sensible enough to hate it and not let it kill all feeling. Pity the poor bastards who let their jobs become their life and find retirement leaves them empty of all purpose, and it turns out, of self.

• Angelcity1.thumb
    Chris Okum
    Oct 09, 07:38pm

I won't let my job become my life, which is why I'm not very good at my job. Much to my supervisor's consternation. I do my job just well enough to keep it. I'm an underachiever.

• Mugshotme_(3).thumb
    Mathew Paust
    Oct 09, 10:03pm

I watch the parade of cars and trucks speed by my apt. every morning going one way, and back again late afternoon. For a while I had the impression everyone in this frantic scramble hated the jobs they were rushing to, and probly most of them do. I imagine them putting on their work face as they careen down the highway, and then peeling it off as they head for home. I live on Social Security, which many Facebook friends whine has them on the ropes staring poverty eye to eye. Other than the incremental physical disintegration that comes with aging, I am happier now in retirement than I can remember ever having been employed.

• Angelcity1.thumb
    Chris Okum
    Oct 09, 10:08pm

Entropy is a motherfucker, Mat. Couldn't agree more.

• Mugshotme_(3).thumb
    Mathew Paust
    Oct 09, 10:52pm