Forum / grad school for aspiring authors... yay or nay?

• 3276_178324980544_535200544_6592071_5820087_n.thumb
    Kelli Trapnell
    Mar 27, 07:04am

I am currently a junior in college studying creative writing, and I am planning to apply to several grad schools for the same thing. My thoughts are that I would be working on a novel or collection of short stories anyway, and I have always been the kind of person who loves to learn, so why not do both?

Recently, however, I've been having some doubts. Any thoughts or recommendations as to specific programs would be much appreciated.

If it helps you answer, I am an aspiring author, and currently my interest is YA fiction, though I love all genres (except nonfiction, sorry!)

• 000_0969.thumb
    H-M Brown
    Mar 27, 09:33am

Hmmm...

The golden rule to writing:

Write, Write, and Write.

Then...

Write again.

Though I don't what your doubts are that you're talking about, what I do know is this; Each of us authors walk a different route in the art of writing. Anything we say to you that we think is the right path for you, is really our own subjective opinion. My advice to you, is to take the programs you feel is right, for you. But don't forget the golden rule to writing.

Hope this helps. :)

• Author_wide.thumb
    Jürgen Fauth
    Mar 27, 04:55pm

check out this series of posts (& discussion) by Alex Chee: http://koreanish.com/2009/11/25/when-to-get-your-mfa-or-not/

Kelli Trapnell
    Mar 28, 07:20am

thank you both for your help! much appreciated.
    also, don't worry. I fully intend to write as long as I have fingers to do so.

• Me_011.thumb
    Jennifer L. Lopez
    Mar 28, 07:38pm

a girl i went to college with got her MFA in poetry from Arizona, which is supposed to be a very good program. if you love the school side of things, why not go for it? i'd love to go back to school for creative writing. i went for something else the first time around and i'm not sure i can really afford to go back just now lol.