Discussion → The Writer's Education

• Pic.thumb
    Edward Mullany
    Oct 10, 09:16am

Of what good is a formal education to the writer?

• Fictionaut.thumb
    Meg Pokrass
    Oct 10, 10:35am

I will respond, but am the wrong person to do so! I was trained as an actress, in an acting conservatory - that's the only training I've had. I think the way I work as a writer is influenced by the sensory recall training that I had DRILLED into to - having acted from ages 8 - 24 - as far as writing goes, I always read a ton, Carver, Wolff, Richard Ford, and poets like Sharon Olds, I'd drag the books with me everywhere, but had no idea i wanted to write until i was in my thirties. I can't say very much about the formal education aspect in writing, but this is what I learned in theater: acting is living truthfully under imaginary circumstances.

• Daviderlewine.thumb
    David Erlewine
    Oct 10, 10:46am

I studied creative writing at Ohio Wesleyan Univ in the early 90's. I'd planned to only graduate with a Journalism degree but then took Intro to Fiction with Bob Flanagan and added English as second major. I got so much horrific writing out of my system there. I took for all sorts of fiction and screenwriting courses. It was a very exciting time for me.

After college, I debated going to get an MFA but went to law school. I'm not too sad about that. I have enough enthusiasm and discipline (PSYCHOSIS/OCD) to keep writing. I'm also far too malleable sometimes and think a tough professor would slit me open and leave entrails hanging.

I pretty much stick with flash these days and think someone at a school would convince me to write a novel. I've tried that enough to know I don't have it in me (like Vince Vaughn in "Return to Paradise", who says he doesn't have it in him to save rare orangutans to the wild). Joaquin P was wrong to say Vince did have it in him, and I suspect people are wrong to say I have novels in me.