Forum / Finding One's Voice

• 000_0969.thumb
    H-M Brown
    Dec 11, 06:25pm

This seems a little insane for me to ask, but it has been something that tends to leave me thinking about a lot. What exactly does a writer's voice look like? Does it have a visual look like grammar, spelling and storytelling? I know it sounds ametuer to ask, but it has been something very nagging. I guess it's because I feel like I don't have a voice. Am I worrying too much about it?

Thanks for your time and help.

• S._tepper--nov--lighter.thumb
    Susan Tepper
    Dec 11, 07:06pm

A writer's voice "on the page" is a kind of imprint of that particular writer's soul. When you are writing from your deepest instincts, without censoring what is coming onto the page, your "writer's voice" will take over and flow naturally out of you. As a writing teacher, I find that some beginner fiction writers are able to access their writer's voice very quickly, whereas others find it in the act of doing-- that is by writing story after story after story. You probably have your writer's voice, and just don't trust in it yet. The fact that you are worrying about it, leads me to that conclusion.

• 000_0969.thumb
    H-M Brown
    Dec 11, 08:57pm

Well it's kind of like this, I have been told once that I have no voice and it kind of confused me.

When I speak aloud I don't have a unique voice, my voice sounds weird. Though I know I must be missing the point if not missing something, and I don't know if I am right in the assessment of my writer's voice being the same as my actual voice.

Perhaps you are right and that I don't have trust in my voice. I never hold back my punches when writing, oh boy do I not hold back with my storytelling.

Is it possible for me to write without a voice?

Susan Tepper
    Dec 12, 03:22pm