Forum / Longer pieces

• Dscf4986.thumb
    Andrew Stancek
    Mar 19, 01:19am

I am very new to Fictionaut, just getting my bearings.

One very obvious observation I have made is that it seems to be almost totally a venue for short pieces. I find that quite surprising, although perhaps it makes sense with the current flowering of flash everywhere.

Has that always been the case here? Is there any group which deals with longer pieces? Are there any members who are interested in longer pieces? Should we start a group?

• Frank_rasky.thumb
    Frank Vander Rasky
    Mar 19, 03:12am

Hi Andrew. Welcome to Fictionaut!

If you’re looking for an Fnaut group which deals with longer pieces, try this one. The group is appropriately named The Longer Story (according to the admin’s description at the following link, for stories 1,500-words or longer):

http://www.fictionaut.com/groups/the-longer-story

By the way, I love your three-word description of your occuption, “writer, translator, dreamer.”

I can relate to writer and dreamer, so already I’m liking you and have just added your name to my contact list. Please stick around. There are times on the Fictionaut forum when I could use a good translator.

• Frank_rasky.thumb
    Frank Vander Rasky
    Mar 19, 03:37am

Grrrrr...I exterminate typos. Delete in the second last paragraph ‘occuption’ and replace with occupation.

• Canada_usa_2011_002.thumb
    Christopher Allen
    Mar 19, 10:39am

Hi, Andrew,
    I've found that anything over 500 words gets little attention if not many people already know your name. My 250-word stories get many more hits than my 1000-worders. I once posted an 8000-word short story: 6 hits, no comments. I'm certain no one wanted to take the time to read it, and I have to ask myself why I posted it anyway.

It's no one's fault. I'm sure your story is wonderful.

• Author_photo.thumb
    James Lloyd Davis
    Mar 19, 03:45pm