Forum / Rosemetal Press Chapbook Award

• 147.thumb
    kate hill cantrill
    Jan 16, 04:51pm

My flash fiction chapbook, Hello Friends and Neighbors, was the first runner-up in the Rosemetal Press Chapbook contest. (I just found out via email this morning). While I'm happy and appreciative of this, this chapbook has been a finalist in the Diagram/New Michigan Press Awards as well as the previous Rosemetal Press Awards and I kind of just want to see this thing in print already! I thought about going DIY before and publishing it through Lulu, and now I'm closer to doing that. Anyone have thoughts/opinions about self publishing? I mean, I'm kind of punk rock to begin with, so maybe this will just solidify my mad-wicked hard core-ness.

• Author_photo.thumb
    James Lloyd Davis
    Jan 16, 05:12pm

If it's good enough to be a finalist entry, recognized by more than one group, it's good enough for a publisher to take a chance on investment. Chapbooks? I am no expert, but if flash fiction is so popular, someone ought to have the nerve to promote it.

I'm personally, ideologically opposed to self-publishing, so I'm hardly one to give advice there. If a writer spends precious time packaging and promoting their work, when will they have the time to write? It's one thing for a rock group to go on tour, hawking their CDs at concerts, but how many lucrative venues exist for a writer to imitate their methodology?

I've heard there are groups of writers that form coalitions to self-publish as a communal effort, but I don't know who they are or how successful they've been.

Maybe the better investment of your time would be to send it out to as many publishers, agents as possible, all the time writing more and new work.

That's my thirty cents. Worth every penny, but hardly even the price of a latte.

• Linda.thumb
    Linda Simoni-Wastila
    Jan 17, 02:27am