Forum / Have you heard the one about...

• Wince_cover2.thumb
    Barry Basden
    Jul 26, 06:20pm

...the guy, sounds like he's from India, who calls up and says, 'You're Microsoft computer is downloading viruses and--'

'How the fuck do you know that?'

Silence.

And you say again, 'How the fuck do you know that?'

And he hangs up.

Have you heard that one?

• Best_guy_ever.thumb
    whatwouldbukowskido
    Jul 26, 06:30pm

No.

But I just got an email from Egypt (addressed to "undisclosed recipients") stating that my internet account would be closed and that I would never be able to be online again if I didn't provide them ALL my personal information.

So of course I did

not.

• Wince_cover2.thumb
    Barry Basden
    Jul 26, 06:41pm

'Your' -- and I'm an editor. Ha. Ha.

• Rebel.thumb
    Sally Houtman
    Jul 26, 09:59pm

Barry - these people have been making the rounds here for the past year as I think they've found New Zealand a soft target. They've called my house no less than five times. Conversation goes a bit like this (depending on my mood and how inclined I am to mess with them):

Them: This is Microsoft technical support. You have viruses on your computer and we're going to help.

Me: How FASCINATING! Do tell me more!

Them: Go to your computer IMMEDIATELY and I'll talk you through the process.

Me: Oh, you mean the process by which I give you access to my computer so you can rape it of all my personal details? That process?

Them: (Angry): This is a very serious matter. You must go to your computer IMMEDIATELY or risk serious loss of your data.

Me: Here's a thought...I'm in a bit of a rush...why don't you give me your full name, the department you work in at Microsoft, and a call back number and I'll get back to you when it's convenient.

*click*
    They have caused a lot of trouble, though, particularly with the elderly who aren't technologically savvy. They are scum.