Forum / Tao Lin's class at Sarah Lawrence

• Spaceinvaders.thumb
    brian warfield
    Aug 12, 07:16am

Open Enrollment. Starting the last week of August I will be facilitating an online verion of Tao Lin's contemprary short story class at Sarah Lawrence. Admission is free and participation is encouraged. I will assign one story per week from authors listed on Lin's syllabus and we will discuss the story using his guidelines.
    http://tlcsscasl.blogspot.com/

• Spaceinvaders.thumb
    brian warfield
    Aug 12, 03:56pm
  • Mosaic_man_marcus.thumb
    Marcus Speh
    Aug 12, 06:21pm

Brian, this sounds like fun. I have only heard of a handful of these writers, and I've just finished my own teaching: I'll try to come to the party. Both as a writer and as a teacher I'm really interested in the public database of notes on each story. I'm curious what made you want to do this?

[However, I tried twice to leave a comment on the site: blogger with its dynamical template is notoriously difficult when it comes to comments… it do this via WordPress if I was you]

• Spaceinvaders.thumb
    brian warfield
    Aug 15, 06:12am

Marcus - i took your advice. here's the new website:
    http://taolinscontemporaryshortstoryclassatsarahlawrence.wordpress.com/

i hope people will participate. i will post a link to the actual class's website when it is up. it would be interesting if we ended up reading the same stories.

• Innis_author_photo.thumb
    Julie Innis
    Aug 17, 09:01pm

Love this idea, Brian, and thank you for the open invite. I'm on an internet fast, taking only occasional breaks, but will def. be following along.

• Jamie.thumb
    Jamie Grefe
    Aug 18, 10:57pm

Brian, thanks for doing this. I'm all in and ready to learn, ready to dig in to the Hempel piece.

• Spaceinvaders.thumb
    brian warfield
    Aug 23, 04:27pm
  • Jamie.thumb
    Jamie Grefe
    Aug 26, 07:22am