Forum / Where are the critique groups?

• Me_(480x640)_(113x150)_(57x75).thumb
    Tiffany R. White
    Dec 03, 07:58pm

I am a writer that seriously could use a good eye from the many talented writers here. What are the names of the critiquing groups?

• Photo_on_2012-05-10_at_10.25.thumb
    Susan Gibb
    Dec 04, 05:54am

Hi Tiffany,

There are a few places. The Workshop is one (and then via request, The Hidden Workshop--named as such only to protect the piece and not for exclusivity), Works in Progress is another. All stories can receive critique if in the Author's Notes to the right of the regular posting you ask for it. Have fun!

susan

• 048b.thumb
    AJ Dresser
    Jan 23, 02:26pm

You can also go to Zoetrope. Lots of writers here workshop their stories there, get them published, then put them up here secondary.

• S._tepper--nov--lighter.thumb
    Susan Tepper
    Jan 23, 03:07pm

I don't believe in writers workshopping their stories. I did it years ago, and found it pretty useless. First off, you can get terrible advice. A lot of writers get bad critiques then go on to do rewrites on stories that are good to begin with. Good stories have been killed by workshops. And by agents who are now acting as editors. Some agents have been known to ruin good manuscripts by tweaking the writing to meet some current market trend. Ghastly! If they're so talented then why aren't they writing the books themselves? Basically, it's all subjective. Even the BIG contests are subjective. I read about a BIGGIE contest that boils down the winner to the book every judge hates the least! Wow! That was an eye-opener! So I say: write your brains out and trust your own instincts. Sooner or later you will be rewarded by publication, or not. But at least you will know for sure that it was your words that made it. Or not. And the truth will always set you free.

Susan Tepper
    Jan 24, 09:55am

ps-- (to my diatribe)