Forum / A Statement

• Samuel Derrick Rosen
    Jul 01, 10:08pm

Just want to say there are a lot of female writers I admire, some on this site. Just because a female is a poet (good or bad) does not make her a feminist, in my mind at least.

It is modern feminism with which I have a problem, not females who write.

SDR

• Image.bedroom.009.expose.thumb
    Ann Bogle
    Jul 02, 01:37pm

Samuel, I am still a feminist. Reading of feminism allowed me to get through adolescence and high school following various attacks on my body. I was a very high scoring student, among the country's highest in math. All of this is of no importance now because I live on disability that pays at the poverty level despite three earned degrees. I feel that reproduction should not be political. For myself, I am in favor of easily reversible birth control (condom) and natural families, denied to me, alas, by sterilizers who think of themselves as feminist. Their practice in stopping white births has little to do with choice or human rights. They stop everyone they can as doctors of government-condoned contraception programs. I see fits directed at "white feminists" in defense of simple anti-racism that faults whites. The idea that Americans are a people is lost to us. I do not understand why talent in women is paid at the poverty level, why work is not found for us, why sufficient income is denied us, why there is decay over a lifetime. Sartre expected de Beauvoir to abort their child. She complied unhappily. Her writing is among the best about women's position. A feminist is not a supremacist. There are people of color who talk of striving for it who write. Maybe one has to say a loving feminist is not a supremacist or a separatist. Separatism is a fearsome practice, no matter who is behind it. ♥

• Angelcity1.thumb
    Chris Okum
    Jul 02, 06:45pm

I am a huge fan of Virginie Despentes. King Kong Theory is a great book.

• Photo.thumb
    Adam Sifre
    Jul 03, 02:24pm