Forum / Online Privacy

• Eugenia_portrait_smile.thumb
    Eugenia Hepworth Petty
    Jun 01, 04:13pm

I am new to fictionaut, but was surprised that both my profile and my posted story appear in Google searches. The story has not yet been published, and I don’t particularly want it to appear in searches online.

I was under the impression that fictionaut was a private community. Is there any way to set your profile and posts so that they do not appear in searches on the internet?

• Night_chorus_book_cover.thumb
    Joani Reese
    Jun 01, 04:21pm

Eugenia: Fictionaut is a private invite group, but almost all reading is public. Your profile and stories are public and will show up on search engines. If you do not want your stories to appear publicly, you should not post them on the main board. You can, however, join one of the private groups and post your stories privately where they will not be available to the public.

• Eugenia_portrait_smile.thumb
    Eugenia Hepworth Petty
    Jun 01, 08:45pm

Thanks! I am becoming much more aware of how much is available to the public online, and am being more cautious. I also want to make sure unpublished work does not appear publicly.

• 0001_pabst_blue_ribbon_time.thumb
    Dolemite
    Jun 01, 09:23pm

When working on a piece I plan to submit, I usually give it a fake title (and delete it after a day or two).

After a week or so (however long the interval is between Google "crawls") it doesn't show up again.

Also, sometimes if a piece is up for less than a day, just to have a fresh look at it, and then deleted, it is up/down BEFORE the Google "crawl" thing takes place and it never shows up.

When you REALLY don't want a piece to be "seen," be sure to delete it. Several times I've found pieces that I've set to Private still show up on Google searches even after several weeks.

• 0001_pabst_blue_ribbon_time.thumb
    Dolemite
    Jun 01, 09:25pm