Discussion → intensity of a read piece

• Flawntnewsmall.thumb
    Finnegan Flawnt
    Dec 12, 02:31am

susan gibb commented, somewhere else: "the reading makes it even more intense." i noticed that, too, especially in pieces involving dialogue, especially when one does the "actor thing" and reads characters with different voices as i tried in "The Vessel" (because i thought the german accent highlights something...and writing "he said in his thick german accent" does not make you, the reader, read something in a thick german accent unless i distort the wording...which i have no experience in...perhaps need to read more mark twain?)

i found the newly found intensity also almost a little offputting at first and i think i wouldn't have published "The Vessel" if meg hadn't started this group. now that i did, i like it, and the reading informs my writing in unforeseen ways. after choking (by accident) when reading, i even changed the piece itself. interesting!

what do you think about "transporting intensity"

• Fictionaut.thumb
    Meg Pokrass
    Dec 12, 05:22pm

I adored The Vessel on video - and the voices were marvelous. I agree w/ the increase in intensity absolutely. I also think it is because your instincts and then your ability to carry them through are quite impressive.

I think this is what I love, finding new things about the piece while making the video!

• Photo_on_2012-05-10_at_10.25.thumb
    Susan Gibb
    Dec 12, 05:27pm

Reading aloud does indeed make or break a piece sometimes. I went to the Wesleyan Conference once and heard several authors read and boy, I told one that he should hire one of the others to read for him. He destroyed his own stories. I hear many poets that seem to believe they have to read it a certain way (are they taught that?) and it just sounds so cold, with no real drama while others are terrific.

Of course as I've also pointed out, how a voice sounds recorded is part of it too, besides the inflections and tone.