Discussion → Group Project

• Dsc_7543.thumb
    Gloria Garfunkel
    Jul 30, 03:01pm

I'm relatively new at fictionaut, but was curious about "group projects" listed by some groups. I'm trying to think about how to be more responsive to the actual pieces posted here. I have a personal blog I've kept private and am retooling it to open up for general reading. What if we did something like the 52/250 project only on our own blogs, with links posted here in a thread when we post a new story. I wrote 100 stories in 100 days once as part of an inter-blog challenge (some people did 100 paintings) and it was exhilarating. I'm up for something like that again, expecting some/most will be terrible, but I'll walk away with a few gems. Any ideas from a group-building writing challenge perspective like that? It's very easy to create a blogger blog just for that purpose, as a playing area.

• Frankenstein-painting_brenda-kato.thumb
    Sam Rasnake
    Jul 30, 03:28pm

I'm a member of a private writing group here, Gloria - and would certainly be interested in joining other private groups. If this group were private - meaning that the pieces we posted here did not show on the public wall - I'd like to join and submit unpublished flash work to it. The group would then function as a workshop.

I do like 52/250 and submitted work there, but I consider that work - from an editor's standpoint - as published.

I never post - or nearly never - unpublished work to the public wall. I'm one of those who treat work posted here - or at blogs, facebook, personal websites as published work. All editors, of course, don't treat work posted to FN - and the like - as published, but many do.

Something to think about. At any rate, I'm glad you've started this group.

• Updated_bio.thumb
    James Claffey
    Jul 30, 03:32pm

sounds like a great idea, gloria. and sam, i wonder about posting my unpublished work on the main wall, but i've never run into an issue over it yet. still, it may happen.